top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Vann

The BEST "Buttermilk" Pancakes. Seriously.

Here we are in April, waking up to a snow day (which does NOT happen here in Portland). Since I didn't have to rush into work this morning, I decided to make pancakes for the two of you boys who were home (Bryton & Colton), but we didn't have any buttermilk. It's not a problem though-I often "make my own" with milk and vinegar or lemon juice, but somehow, what I did today created the most delicious, light and fluffy "buttermilk" pancakes ever. I just wish all 4 of you were here to eat them hot off of the griddle.


Once again, my photography just doesn't do my food justice but thankfully, it's just you boys I'm writing these for, so your memories can fill in the gaps between photos and taste. This is one of those recipes that is truly swoon-worthy. This recipe makes approximately 18 pancakes.


INGREDIENTS

2 cups all purpose flour

3 T. sugar

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. kosher salt

1/4 cup sour cream

3 T. vinegar

2 cups whole milk

2 eggs

4 T. melted, unsalted butter

Butter, coconut oil, or other oil for the pan


DIRECTIONS

Whisk together all of the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. In another mixing bowl (or large 4 cup glass measurer), whisk together the sour cream and vinegar and then slowly pour in the milk while whisking. Break your eggs into a small bowl, beat them with a fork, then whisk into the milk mixture. Pour the milk mixture into the flour and gently whisk together but don't over-whisk. Then, fold the melted butter into the batter until well incorporated.


Preheat a nonstick skillet over medium-low heat. Add a little butter or oil to the pan and start frying up your batter. I do 1/3 cup batter per pancake. They're ready to flip when you start seeing little bubbles on the top. I like my pancakes a light golden brown and a consistent fluffy texture inside and out, so that's why I cook my pancakes over medium-low rather than a higher temperature. It takes a little longer, but it's worth it. Patience is key my loves.


Top with some butter and your favorite maple syrup, and you'll be in heaven.


15 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page